Midnight Movie: Beauty and the Beast

WARNING: There may or may not be spoiler in this post. I don’t know if y’all will consider this spoiler ok but whatever.

I have always loved Disney, and I am a bit of a sucker for Disney princesses (no surprise there?). And while Belle is not my favorite Disney princess (that title belongs to Mulan, ok), I was very excited for this movie for many reasons:

  1. It’s Disney, and I have never missed a Disney Princess live action movie.
  2. Emma Watson
  3. Great songs, that I may or may not have misquoted in my spotlight interview at work (ahem), and it’s the tale as old as time.

So, knowing the story by heart, I decided to go and watch the movie at midnight, so that when I cry (I know I will), no one can see me.

title-short-bare

Except, WRONG. I watched the movie on the third night since its opening, and boy the theater was filled, even at the 11.50pm showing. WHY. Also, I started crying not too long after the movie started when they were showing Belle’s father working on this piece featuring baby Belle and her mother.

J, with whom I watched the movie after massive persuasion, pointed out that Belle is very much Hermione Granger. Bookworm, live in a castle, go to places she wasn’t supposed to go (chamber of secret/third floor of Hogwarts vs West Wing of Beast’s castle),  dealing with hot-headed men (Ron, Beast…), and definitely need to sort her priorities straight. Good job Disney on casting Emma, she’s been playing Belle her whole life.

landscape-1485834373-emma

Ok, on to the movie. I found the movie very much enjoyable despite hearing about how this movie isn’t as good as other live action movie like Cinderella or Maleficent. I mean, okay, it’s very hard to top Maleficent in terms of… everything, really, because Maleficent is a giant spin-off offering a very different story from the original.

Beauty and the Beast, however, is a re-telling of the original cartoon with some changes, like the fact that Belle invented a washing machine, and the background story of how Belle’s mother died because of the black plague. I think this humanizes Maurice a lot more, because in the cartoon I only remembered him being a loving father, but is also a strange old man.

My favorite part of the whole movie is of course, Be Our Guest musical number.

undefined

The color and the whole animation (and the song, obviously) MAKES. ME. SO. HAPPY. Also, it left me asking, did Belle even get to eat anything with the whole show going on in front of her eyes? Because those are some good food.

Also, how cute is Chip?

screen-shot-2016-11-14-at-5-13-09-pmWhen he met Maurice he was all, “Mom said I shouldn’t move because it might be scary,” which is why Maurice even ran in the first place. Tsk, tsk, tsk, bad Chip. And then he pulled that blowing bubble on his teacup thing on Belle and his face got all scrunched up.

Another thing that I do like about this movie is when the villager came for the Beast, the servants (in the form of antiques), beginning to recognize the people (Mrs Potts found her husband), and it made sense because a long time ago they were all basically living in the same village, except this Beast guy was rich.

There was also re-appearance of the witch/enchanter at the end of the movie, who un-cursed the Beast… she’s been watching him! The. whole. time! And technically Belle missed the deadline to say ‘I love you’, so the witch eventually taking back the curse is why they turned back into humans, not Belle.

Overall, I love this movie, and while Emma Watson singing doesn’t sound the best on the audio tracks, it was all forgiven when the songs play on the movie with the whole thing going on. Bonus point for a very hot and extremely condescending Gaston.

image_8640f0a9

Watch the movie, guys. Watch it. You’ll love it.


 

Leave a Reply

