Getting fit is sooooo hard: the workout edition

So this is a hard topic to write about, but I feel like I really want to. Getting/staying fit is so hard, y’all. There’s a lot of effort that goes into consciously making those decisions that, nope, I will not be 57 and sick, or 35 and obese.

First things first: gyms are so expensive. Some time last year I signed up with one of the big gyms; I paid the membership fee and monthly dues and all that stuff. The problem is, I couldn’t find enough motivation to go and utilize that membership (despite not being in my best shape).

Going to the gym is hard. I don’t know where to begin and when I’m done I kinda just feel like…. meh. I tried going for classes at the gym but I don’t know, I just don’t feel inspired. So I had to terminate it early AND THEN PAY TERMINATION FEE, because I was on 12 months contract. Apparently I don’t have that kind of commitment.

tumblr_inline_mhd9wqo2ZF1qz4rgp

Nope, nothing like that

Since then, I was on a mission to find a workout that works for me, that I also enjoy. I went back to yoga, and while it was good, it doesn’t quite keep me coming back for more. Granted, it’s probably because the studio that I went to wasn’t the most accessible, but still. Maybe if I find a more suitable studio it would work better.

Then I tried Ritual Gym, a HIIT gym with 30-minute quick workout concept. Let me just tell you this: it was super fun. And it really worked, and I really loved going there every morning. The workout takes less than 30 minutes, and after showering and such, I’ll be done in under an hour – I will still make it to work on time. The only problem (for me), is that it’s pricey. It’s worth what you’re paying for, I think, it’s just that my broke ass self can’t afford it right now. You should try it, though!

ritual-gym-workout-space

One day, my friend.

And then, just when I was about to succumb to fatness and unhealthy lifestyle, I found a workout that works for me. Barre, y’all. Barre exercise. And thanks to WeBarre, my experience with it has been great.

img_3174

Probably the best purchase I made in the last month or so

WeBarre’s workout is a combination of ballet technique, yoga, pilates and strength training, and works out every part of your body in 60 minutes. I was drenched on most sessions, and classes are super fun. As a (former) dancer, the workouts are very enjoyable because it’s like being back in dance studio (minus screaming choreographer). They play really good music in class that goes with your workout, and if you’re lucky, you’ll find the instructors whose music taste matches yours. A tip: try different instructor’s class to see which style suits you the best if that’s something you’re particular with. Me? I just choose the best timing for me cause all the instructors have been very helpful and classes are always exciting.

Barre-classes-in-Singapore-Webarre-1

It’s not the cheapest option, with single class priced at SGD38 and class packs starting at SGD330 for 10 classes, given that I know there are cheaper (even free) workout options out there. But hey, the key is to find something that works for you. It has to be motivating enough to keep you going, and then coming back for more. This one has worked so far, and if you’re interested to know, I got the unlimited monthly pass because I just feel it was gonna be more worth it, given that I planned to go (and have been going btw) for classes every other day.

I do plan on trying a wider variety of workout, though. I recently caught up with The Busy Woman Project, and am excited to discover more workout places, and healthy eating spot in Singapore. Check them out, they’re amazing.

‘Til the next rant.

2 thoughts on “Getting fit is sooooo hard: the workout edition

Leave a Reply

